Follow

How to permanently delete visitor history

Visitor saves all history of who visited when. This is not always desirable. It is possible to delete all entries older than a specified date.

This deletion does not cover the companies saved in your Visitor.

Warning, this is not reversable. There are no backups to restore from if you regret your actions.

No special access is required, a receptionist with access to the Visitor installation can do this.

We need to enter the Setup, which is located under Configuration.

The clean up option is in the Database tab. The date is todays date by default, but you can choose another date by pressing the date field.

Choose your desired date. This guide is made on the 26th of September 2018 and chose that date in this example. Warning, the chosen date is included in the clean up. That means all registrations done on the 26th (in this example) will be removed as well. If I wanted to keep todays registrations but delete all older, I should pick the date 25 September 2018 instead.

When you have your desired date, press Do clean up

You will get two warnings asking you to confirm that you really want to delete all registrations before this date. Please remember that the chosen date is included in the clean up. That means all registrations done on the 26th (in this example) will be removed as well. If I wanted to keep todays registrations but delete all older, I should pick the date 25 September 2018 instead. 

If you are sure, press yes to the warnings (examples are shown below)

Once the database is cleaned up you get a green pop-up saying it is done. Now we press save.

A pop-up will inform you that you have to restart Visitor for the changes to be applied. Once you have restarted, you are done.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk